2019 – 2020

The programme includes works by Ludwig van Beethoven – solo piano, string quartets, and transcriptions of orchestral works – as well as music (some of it written as responses) from Orlando Gough, Charlie Barber and American composer Robert Moran.

The performance is continuous – a musical journey through a variety of works – and lasts approximately 60 minutes. To enable the audience to access and experience the music through a fresh approach, we would prefer, where possible, to stage the performance as a promenade event, in the round, or other alternative staging which encourages an innovative interaction with the music.

Works by Ludwig van Beethoven:

Eroica VariationsOp. 35 (1802)

Egmont Overture, Op. 84 (1810)

Piano Concerto No 2, Op. 19: I Allegro con brio (1789)

String Quartet No 6, Op 18: IV La Malinconia (Adagio) (1800)

Symphony No 3, Op. 55 ‘Eroica’: IV Finale (1804)

String Quartet No 14, Op. 131: VI Adagio quasi un poco andante (1826)

Works by other composers:

Charlie Barber – quasi una fantasia (2006)

Charlie Barber – Beethoven 7 Re-mix (1999)

Charlie Barber – Beethoven Unfinished (2007)

Robert Moran – Immoral Beloved (1999)

Orlando Gough – Dead White European Male (1999)